Deuel County Commissioners


The county commissioners meet the first and third Tuesday of every month.  To see the agenda or minutes for the most recent meeting click the appropriate link below.



Often scrutinized and seldom recognized is the important role of the men and women who shoulder the responsibility of county government through service as a County Commissioner.  The acts of county commissioners control the destiny, prosperity and general well-being of the residents and businesses of South Dakota.  Each county has a board of 3-5 Commissioners who are elected to staggered terms of 4 years.  They are responsible for the oversight of every service that each county office provides.  In general, County Commissioners are responsible for the care and preservation or sale of all county property;  the audit of accounts of all officers having the care, management, collection or disbursement of any money belonging to the county; levying taxes; construction and repair of bridges; to open, lay out, vacate and change highways; to purchase or acquire grounds for courthouse, jail or other building sites; to establish election precincts in the county and appoint the judges of election; and as a board of equalization, to equalize the assessment roll of the county in the manner provided by law; to furnish necessary equipment and supplies for county offices; to superintend the fiscal concerns of the county and secure their management in the best possible manner;  to regulate the transaction of business in alcoholic beverages; to make ordinances prohibiting the sale or exhibition of any obscene matter; and for zoning, solid waste and water management along with a host of other issues that arise affecting the county.

Below are the Deuel county commissioners and the towns & townships they represent.


District Name & Phone Towns Townships
1 Lynn Pederson
Gary & Brandt Glenwood, Herrick, Norden, & Antelope Valley
2 Steve Rhody
Toronto & Astoria Scandinavia, Blom, & Grange
3 Gary Jaeger
Altamont & Goodwin Altamont, Havana, Goodwin, Portland, Rome, & Lowe
4 DeAnne Dumke
Clear Lake (wards 1 & 2)  
5 Gary DeJong
Clear Lake (ward 3) Hidewood, Brandt, & Clear Lake

Return to the Deuel County Homepage